Welcome to Truth in Fiction!

Antonia Fraser, author of Marie Antoinette, was once quoted as saying “I can’t read historical fiction because I find the real thing so much more interesting”.

I understand her perspective. Sometimes just knowing that the events you are reading about really happened can make the story that much more incredible; but I also enjoy the curiosity that comes from reading, or watching, works of historical fiction. Whether I’m watching a movie set in the Georgian era, or reading a novel about the Tudors, I can’t help but wonder – did this really happen?

As a self-proclaimed history nerd, I enjoy putting my curiosity to good use discovering where the line blurs between historical fact and a creator’s imagination. But like Antonia Fraser, I find ‘the real thing’ fascinating and enjoy biographies and documentaries. This blog will include all things historical, from interesting anecdotes and profiles of historical figures to reviews of period dramas and works of fiction.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

